• Chema Madoz, 'Untitled', 2009. Colección Fundación Aena. © Chema Madoz, VEGAP, Palma de Mallorca, 2014
Chema Madoz, 'Untitled', 2009. Colección Fundación Aena. © Chema Madoz, VEGAP, Palma de Mallorca, 2014

Reproductibilitat 1.2. Fundación Aena + Es Baluard

Es Baluard Museu d’Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma and Fundación Aena join forces for the first time to co-produce an exhibition that is to take place in the museum in Palma de Mallorca. Entitled “Reproductibilitat 1.2. Fundación Aena + Es Baluard” and inaugurated on 2nd October 2014 at 8 pm, the display forms part of the “Reproductibilitat” series which Es Baluard commenced in 2013. On this occasion, it focuses on Spanish contemporary photography, with a selection of works in the two collections, combined in a unique curatorial discourse by Ángeles Imaña (Aena’s Director of Conservation and Cultural Projects) and Nekane Aramburu (Director of Es Baluard). The work that serves as a starting point is an image by Chema Madoz created in 2009 — a visual metaphor resulting from the alteration of the relationship between the object represented and a fragment of the same, a branch from which trees are sprouting —, a photograph both institutions have in their respective collections but under different serial numbers. This fact also allows for a more in-depth study of the components and patterns of art collecting.

Fundación Aena was created in 1994 and is a cultural institution linked to the public entity Aena (Aeropuertos Españoles y Navegación Aérea) and its objectives include the conservation, extension and diffusion of its artistic heritage. Its reserves are comprised of an outstanding collection of Spanish and Latin American art which, chronologically speaking, begins in the second half of the 20th century and continues until the present, encompassing over 1500 works focusing on painting, sculpture, photography and works on paper.

Download the exhibition brochure


3rd October 2014 → 22nd February 2015
Curator: Ángeles Imaña, Nekane Aramburu

Coproduced by: 

Rafael Agredano, José Manuel Ballester, Raúl Belinchón, Pep Bonet, Daniel Canogar, Victoria Diehl, Alicia Framis, Carmela García, Chus García-Fraile, Pablo Genovés, Cristina Iglesias, Juan del Junco, Rogelio López-Cuenca, Chema Madoz, Rosell Meseguer, Paloma Navares, Marina Núñez, Álvaro Sánchez-Montañés, Santiago Sierra, Antoni Socías, Marta Soul, Darío Urzay