Fundació Es Baluard

Established on 30th January 2004, Es Baluard Museu currently possesses an important reserve of contemporary art by creators who are either from the Balearic Islands or related to them in some way. As well as exhibiting the works that comprise its collection, Es Baluard Museu holds temporary exhibitions. Since being established, it has held exhibitions of works by artists such as Rebecca Horn (2004), Fabrizio Plessi (2004), Picasso (2006), Jaume Plensa (2006), Andy Warhol (2006), Joan Miró (2006 and 2008), Santiago Rusiñol (2007), Anselm Kiefer (2009), Robert Mapplethorpe (2009), Joana Vasconcelos (2009), Juan Uslé (2010), Alberto García-Alix (2010), Eduardo Arroyo (2011), Christian Boltanski (2011), Amparo Sard (2014) and Thomas Hirschhorn (2016), among others.

The Museum is managed by the Fundació Es Baluard Museu d’Art Contemporani de Palma, the members of which are the Government of the Balearic Islands, the Island Council of Mallorca, Palma City Council and the Fundació d’Art Serra. In 2008, the Acquisitions Committee was set up, a body comprised of experts from within and external to the museum, with the aim of enlarging the collection. The collection managed by the Es Baluard Foundation is comprised of works owned by the foundation, those ceded by patrons and works from private collections, all of them distinguished by the fact that they are by artists related to the Balearic Islands.

Thus, the Fundació Es Baluard Museu collection is made up of works created by artists associated to the most significant international tendencies that have appeared since the late 19th century – Hermen Anglada-Camarasa, María Blanchard, Norah Borges, Joan Miró, Robert Motherwell, Jorge Oteiza, Picasso, Santiago Rusiñol, Joaquín Sorolla  and Antoni  Tàpies, among others- right up to our own time – for example, Ignasi Aballí, Miquel Barceló, F. García Sevilla, Rebecca Horn, Shirin Neshat, Jaume Plensa, F. Plessi, Bernardí Roig, Francisco Ruiz de Infante, Amparo Sard, Antoni Socías and Joana Vasconcelos.

Es Baluard Museu Directors since 2004:
Teresa Pérez-Jofre Santesmases (Opening – February of 2004)
Marie-Claire Uberquoi Lebrun (May of 2004 – February of 2008)
Cristina Ros Salvà (February of 2008 – February of 2012)
Nekane Aramburu (March of 2013 – March of 2019)
Imma Prieto (October 2019 – Current)


The functions of the Fundació Es Baluard Museu d’Art Contemporani de Palma includes the conservation of the museum’s assets of cultural value, the promotion of knowledge, the diffusion of its heritage and the promotion of culture in general.

Board of Trustees

The Board of the Fundació Es Baluard Museu d'Art Contemporani de Palma is comprised of the public institutions that participated in the construction and launching of the Museum: Govern de les Illes Balears, Consell de Mallorca, Ajuntament de Palma and Fundació d’Art Serra.

The Board’s functions include those of guaranteeing the foundation’s objectives, exercising control over the foundation, approving its budget and acting as a bridge between the foundation and society.

Board of Trustees at October 2019:

Honorary President

His Majesty King Juan Carlos I

Founding President

Mr. Pere A. Serra Bauzà

Ms. Francina Armengol i Socias

President of the Govern de les Illes Balears

Members of the Board

Ms. Francina Armengol i Socias

President of the Govern de les Illes Balears

Ms. Mercedes Garrido i Rodríguez

Regional minister for Presidency, Public Function and Equality of the Govern de les Illes Balears

Mr. Miquel Company i Pons

Regional minister for European Funds, University and Culture of the Govern de les Illes Balears

Ms. Catalina Cladera Crespí

President of the Consell de Mallorca

Ms. Isabel María Busquets Hidalgo

Executive minister of Culture, Heritage and Language Policy of the Consell de Mallorca

Mr. Josep Mallol Vicens

Technical Secretary for Culture, Heritage and Language Policy of the Consell de Mallorca

Mr. José F. Hila Vargas

Mayor of Palma

Mr. Antoni Noguera Ortega

Councillor for Culture and Social Welfare Area of ​​the City Council of Palma

Sr. Marcos Augusto Lladó

General Coordinator of Cultural Promotion of ​​the City Council of Palma

Víctor Francos Díaz
General Secretary of Culture and Sports Ministerio de Cultura y Deporte

Ms. Carmen Serra Magraner

Fundació d’Art Serra

Mr. Miguel Rullán Serra

Fundació d’Art Serra

Ms. Ana Rullán Estarellas

Fundació d’Art Serra

Bernardí Roig


Imma Prieto Carrillo
Director Es Baluard Museu

Organization chart

Imma Prieto Image email icon
Toni Torres Image email icon
Artistic department          
Soad Houman Image email icon
Rosa Espinosa Image email icon
Catalina Joy Image email icon
Education and public programmes
Eva Cifre Image email icon
Maria Verdejo Image email icon
Public programs
Pilar Rubí Image email icon
Magda Albis Image email icon
External relations
Aina Crespi Image email icon
Daniel Rebassa Image email icon
Lourdes Romero Image email icon
Director's PA
Clara Llompart Image email icon
Paz Montesinos Image email icon
Francisco Medrano Image email icon
Andreu Verd
Robert Escobar
Visitor service / ticket office    
Visitor service
Perico Gual Image email icon
Ticket office
Maria Gayà Image email icon

External service companies

Cleaning: Top Clean Baleares SL
Surveillance / Security: Transportes Blindados SA
Gallery assistants: Atese Atención y Servicios SL